Page 1 of 1
Car chains
Posted: 07 Dec 2017, 19:35
by Lobby
See
this thread on how to add custom cars to the game. Since version 385 you can define a chain of cars that behaves as one vehicle. See here an example:
The garbage trucks were appended to the fire brigade truck to form long, connected vehicles. A better use would be for example a tram or a bending bus. There's basically no limit in the length of the chain.
To append cars to a car just use
Code: Select all
"tail":["anotherCarId",...] // A list of cars to append
To append the car itself just use null as convenient placeholder. So a chain of a car of length 3 would have a tail of length 2:
The car ids used in a tail array have to be already defined. Only the first variant (4 frames make up a variant) will be used for each car in a tail. You may use the empty/invisible car $car_null00 as placeholder between cars in a chain if sufficient.
The code to achieve the fire-garbage-trains as shown above
Code: Select all
[
{
"override":true,
"id":"$carfirebrigade00",
"type":"car",
"frames":[{"x":512,"y":657,"w":32,"h":18,"count":4}],
"tail":["$garbagetruck00","$garbagetruck00","$garbagetruck00","$garbagetruck00"]
}
]
No extra graphics needed.
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 07 Dec 2017, 20:15
by Borbor
If I ask you to lobby, can you sample the json file?
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 07 Dec 2017, 20:26
by THEMAX
I will start to work on my tramway
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 07 Dec 2017, 21:08
by Lobby
@Borbor I added the json code to get the chains as shown in the image
@former member It won't be a DLC
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 07 Dec 2017, 21:29
by Lobby
I know

Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 09 Dec 2017, 17:25
by KINGTUT10101
Will there be a tutorial for custom zones soon?
Re: Car chains
Posted: 09 Dec 2018, 18:55
by Imran M
For people who use json Genie: "tail" is an array, and the ids are values. They don't have a title just a value
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 09 Dec 2018, 20:10
by JustAnyone
KINGTUT10101 wrote: ↑09 Dec 2017, 17:25
Will there be a tutorial for custom zones soon?
There is one.
Re: Car chains
Posted: 10 Dec 2018, 00:16
by KINGTUT10101
That comment was made a year ago..
Re: [385]Car chains
Posted: 10 Dec 2018, 00:55
by CommanderABab
JustAnyone wrote: ↑09 Dec 2018, 20:10
KINGTUT10101 wrote: ↑09 Dec 2017, 17:25
Will there be a tutorial for custom zones soon?
There is one.
Re: Car chains
Posted: 06 Jul 2020, 11:18
by abcde
What should I do if I want to make a train? The car chain looks like a train, but how to make it run on the rail? Can I add a few lines of code to make it a train?
thanks

Re: Car chains
Posted: 06 Jul 2020, 11:57
by Lobby
Basically yes, adding
Code: Select all
"flag normal": false,
"flag train": true
to your car chain would allow it to drive on rails. However, you need a building (e.g. a station) that spawns it because it won't be spawned automatically.
Re: Car chains
Posted: 23 Jul 2020, 13:06
by ChunFangXin
I'm very sorry to disturb you again, because I have encountered a terrible plug-in problem. I make a lot of trains, but they always carry a car. Sometimes I make a garbage truck on top of the train, and sometimes the fire engine will be embedded in the locomotive. It's strange. But I firmly believe that this is my programming. There is a problem with the two parameters of X and y. Because when I adjust these two parameters, the situation will change, but it never disappears. There is always this strange problem. What is the problem? How to calculate the four parameters of X, y, W and h when making automobile chain? thank you. I'm very sorry, because my English is not good, this paragraph uses the translation software to translate, if there is something wrong, I'm very sorry.

Re: Car chains
Posted: 24 Jul 2020, 13:18
by star Lee
Excuse me,what is this?
Re: Car chains
Posted: 10 Oct 2020, 10:41
by PetrovMaksYt
star Lee wrote: ↑24 Jul 2020, 13:18
Excuse me,what is this?
070f55a64b71aee3b6d8868020cd665.jpg
Texture of vagons very long too.
Re: Car chains
Posted: 10 Oct 2020, 10:41
by PetrovMaksYt
or high
Re: Car chains
Posted: 14 Mar 2021, 22:02
by imajoke
ChunFangXin wrote: ↑23 Jul 2020, 13:06
I'm very sorry to disturb you again, because I have encountered a terrible plug-in problem. I make a lot of trains, but they always carry a car. Sometimes I make a garbage truck on top of the train, and sometimes the fire engine will be embedded in the locomotive. It's strange. But I firmly believe that this is my programming. There is a problem with the two parameters of X and y. Because when I adjust these two parameters, the situation will change, but it never disappears. There is always this strange problem. What is the problem? How to calculate the four parameters of X, y, W and h when making automobile chain? thank you. I'm very sorry, because my English is not good, this paragraph uses the translation software to translate, if there is something wrong, I'm very sorry.
It isn't your programing, it's your textures.
Re: Car chains
Posted: 18 Nov 2021, 11:22
by Wepf
For some reason, this happened to me
Re: Car chains
Posted: 12 May 2025, 06:55
by SantiagoVal
I want to make a mod of the Mexico City Metro, I want to make the textures and files, custom platforms, traffic lights and rails, the truth is I need help to create it, Because I don't know anything about creating plugins, and I would like to know if it is possible to use the bus dynamics, The one that has a personalized stop, that is like the bus stops and not a road decoration, And that you can put a road decoration and a stop at the same time, but I don't know how to do it, I need help from plugin creators